An Interview with Mahatma Gandhi

Asking Gandhi about Mental Health and Happiness

Tori Franklin
5 min readSep 13, 2023

--

Photo by aboodi vesakaran on Unsplash

I think about the great minds, personalities, and influencers of the world and I wish that I could sit down, have tea, and casually talk with them about worldly happenings or their spiritual journeys. Lately, I’ve thought about the topic of negative self-talk.

A couple of weeks ago, I competed at the Budapest World Championships. Just at the beginning of the final I injured my foot and had to pull out of the competition. Days later, I repeated the last few weeks in my head ceaselessly, wondering what I could have done differently to avoid this, which days I skipped a massage, who I should have spoken to sooner, or what support I could have had there with me but didn’t. This could have led to thoughts about myself that are far from loving.

In speaking with athletes of all levels, it is clear that negative self-talk is second nature to most. So, I thought, who can I ask about this? Who could give advice on how to speak kindlier, and gain a stronger mentality.

Just then a small, thin yet seemingly impenetrable man walked into my kitchen. He was dressed in white robes. He had a thick white mustache sprinkled with grey, eyes glowing with love, and a gentle smile.

--

--

Tori Franklin

Olympic Triple Jumper. World Championship Medalist. Public Speaker on Mental Health and Dream Chasing. Non- Profit Founder. AUTHOR!!!